Fiqh Council Of North America Announces The Date For Eidul-Adha

Based on its criteria to use astronomical calculations for determining the dates of Islamic Lunar Calendar consistently throughout the year, the Fiqh Council of North America has decided that Eidul Adha in North America this year will be on Sunday, December 31, 2006 (Dhul Hijjah 10, 1427).

For the month of Dhul Hijjah the Astronomical New Moon (conjunction) will occur on Wednesday December 20, 2006 at 2:00 p.m. GMT (i.e., 9:00 a.m. EST, and 6:00 a.m. PST ). On Thursday, December 21, 2006, the new crescent will be sightable in Australia, South East Asia, Middle East, Africa, and Americas. Thus the first day of Dhul Hijjah will be Friday, December 22, 2006.

For full details visit: Fiqh Council

Friday Khutbah (24-Nov-2006): Position of mother in Islam (Love Your Mother)

[audio:http://www.fridaykhutbah.com/wp-content/uploads/2006/11/friday_khutbah_24nov2006.mp3]

Islam considered kindness to parents next to the worship of God.

“And we have enjoined upon man (to be good) to his parents: His mother bears him in weakness upon weakness…” (Qur’an 31:14) (See also Qur’an 46:15, 29:8).

Moreover, the Qur’an has a special recommendation for the good treatment of mothers:

“Your Lord has decreed that you worship none save Him, and that you be kind to your parents. . .” (Qur’an 17:23).

A man came to Prophet Muhammad (P) asking:

O Messenger of God, who among the people is the most worthy of my good company? The Prophet (P) said, Your mother. The man said then who else: The Prophet (P) said, Your mother. The man asked, Then who else? Only then did the Prophet (P) say, Your father. (Al-Bukhari and Muslim).

A famous saying of The Prophet is “Paradise is at the feet of mothers.” (In Al’Nisa’I, Ibn Majah, Ahmad).”It is the generous (in character) who is good to women, and it is the wicked who insults them.”

Source:THE STATUS OF WOMAN IN ISLAM
By Jamal A. Badawi